Half a Dozen

Just another WordPress.com site

First Date…Tea for Two… June 27, 2011

Filed under: 8 Great Dates for Moms & Daughters — shud3467 @ 11:09 pm

Mackinley and I had our first date of our bible study we are doing,  Secret Keeper Girl (SKG), 8 Great Dates for Moms and Daughters by Dannah Gresh.  I loved reading this book, I have actually recommended this book to my friends with little girls.  She also has another book that was also very helpful and a very easy read called How to Keep the Little in your Girl.  SKG gives really helpful tips on how to help raise Godly young ladies.  Date #1 “Your Beauty in God’s Eyes” suggested setting was taking your daughter to a tea room.  We used the lake house next to the restaurant, which has a very pretty view of Lake Pagett.  It’s these moments when I see Mack as such a young woman.  Our time one on one is so precious, she was so excited and appreciative of our time together…I cherished today with her.  The tea setting was to show our value in God’s eyes, how that value will not change, but how the world can judge our actions as a believer through the ways we dress, talk, and through our actions.  So, to start off I had three different types of cups ceramic, styrofoam, and china.  We compared the value of each cup, in the end we decided that we want the world to see us the way God does, like a beautiful piece of china…

The verse was Isaiah 64:8 We are the clay, you are the potter; we are all the work of your hand.  After our tea, Mackinley wanted to walk down to the lake.  Down on the dock we completed the devotion with a “value evaluation” to see if we are ceramic, styrofoam, or china in our walk and how can we move toward presenting ourselves as priceless china.  Mackinley wanted to see which one of us had the most “china” marks, well, I’m a little embarrassed to say, Mackinley had more:-(  Next week, is “Real Physical Beauty”, we are going to give each other facials and go get pedi’s.

I am very excited to say that our tomato has a sprout!!!

Avaree lost her first tooth yesterday…and here are some pics I thought you may enjoy…

 

4 Responses to “First Date…Tea for Two…”

  1. Nona Hudson Says:

    I am so proud of you Mommy!!! What a Godly Mother you are!!! You and Mackinley needed a day just to yourselves and I am sure she will bloom under your teaching. All the pics are precious and cannot believe Avaree is already losing teeth!! Shell out, tooth fairy!!! Love the pic of Remi in the bucket…….so sweet, just like her!!! Love you all so much, Mimi Philippians 1:6

  2. Shanna Says:

    Oh man!!!! Did I seriously just publish a blank comment?! What I was going to say was….you’re making me look like a real ‘dud’ of a mommy. I better get busy before my kids realize how lousy I am. So sweet and great ideas. I know it would be great for our Nia-peah.

    Love you

    • shud3467 Says:

      So, did you get this, or did mimi forward it to u? Don’t be so hard on yourself u still have a little time left. You provide your family with love and discipline, that’s all they need right now…you’re AWESOME!!!

  3. KV Says:

    While Grandma went away, God blessed you in another way….all those wonderful Grandbabies….The full circle of life….now do not spoil them or I will tell your big sister , Pat.


Leave a Reply

